CFDAs: Proenza Boys Threepeat, Twice Is Nice for Thom Browne, Phillip Lim Bags a Win

The Council of Fashion Designers of America voters have spoken. At last night’s post-downpour awards extravaganza‎, held at Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center and hosted by effervescent Bravo exec Andy Cohen (taking the night off from his Watch What Happens Live clubhouse), Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez snagged their third womenswear of the year trophy in seven years–and by the looks of their fall 2013 collection, the dynamic duo might find themselves back at the podium next year at this time.

Thom Browne (pictured) continued his winning streak, picking up a second menswear designer of the year award (his first was in 2006) in the wake of his 2012 National Design Award and last month’s “Fashion Visionary” nod from Pratt Institute. After saluting fellow nominees Michael Bastian and Duckie Brown’s Steven Cox and Daniel Silver (“I feel like we’ve grown up together”), Browne gave a shout-out out to his “fearless tailor” Rocco Ciccarelli, a seventysomething sartorial whiz who owns the factory where Browne’s clothes are made.

Rounding out the night’s big three, Phillip Lim–and his highly covetable Pashli and 31 Hour bags–bested the Proenza boys and Alexander Wang to take the accessories category. Read on to learn who else went home a winner:

Swarovski Award for Womenswear nominees: Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis for Suno

Swarovski Award for Menswear nominees: Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design nominees: Pamela Love

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Vera Wang

Media Award: Tim Blanks

Founders Award: Oscar de la Renta

Board of Directors’ Tribute Award: Colleen Atwood

International Award: Riccardo Tisci

Publish date: June 4, 2013 © 2020 Adweek, LLC. - All Rights Reserved and NOT FOR REPRINT