Meet the Semi-Finalists for Greater Los Angeles Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year

It’s that time of year again. Ernst & Young has pared down its Greater LA Entrepreneur of the Year competition to a worthy group of semi-finalists. Finalists will be announced May 13 and a gala presentation held June 18 at the Beverly Hilton, hosted by FOX 11 news anchor Christine Devine.

“We typically have between 18-21 finalists and six or seven awards categories by industry,” Greater LA program manager Ashley Evans tells FishbowlLA. “The categories aren’t announced until the gala and are determined by our independent judging panel.”

From there, LA and other USA regional winners will convene in Palm Springs in November for the EY National Entrepreneur of the Year Awards, typically hosted by Jay Leno. One lucky U.S. winner will continue on to the World Entrepreneur of the Year Awards in June 2014.

Last year, three of seven Greater LA winners went on to the National finals including Bob Brisco, CEO and director Internet Brands. Among this year’s local semi-finalists are JibJab Media co-founders Evan Spiridellis and Gregg Spiridellis; Machinima CEO Allen DeBevoise; and Demian Sellfors, CEO of Media Temple.

Full list of 2013 Greater LA semi-finalists here. Good luck to all.

Update – 05/16/13: The Greater LA finalists have now been announced. They are:

Janice Bryant Howroyd, CEO, The Act 1 Group
Dinesh Ravishanker, CEO & co-founder, CallFire
Mel Elias, president & CEO, The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
Clarence Daniels Jr., chairman & CEO, Concession Management Services
Sam Naficy, president & CEO, DTT
Jeff Stibel, chairman & CEO, Dun & Bradstreet Credibility Corp.
Martha de la Torre and Joe Badame, co-Founders, El Clasificado
Jamey Edwards, CEO, Emergent Medical Associates
The An Family, founders, House of An (Crustacean, An Qi, Tiato, Thanh Long, and An Catering)
Ed Bagdasarian, president, Jim Freedman, Chairman, Mike Rosenberg, CEO, Intrepid Investment Bankers LLC
Bob Sinnott, CEO, Kayne Anderson Capital Advisors, L.P.
Moctesuma Esparza, CEO, Maya Cinemas North America, Inc.
Demian Sellfors, CEO, Media Temple
Rick Stollmeyer, CEO, MINDBODY Inc.
Tim Cadogan, CEO, OpenX
Loren Bendele, president & co-founder,
Walter Driver, CEO, Scopely
Jessica Firestone, president & CEO, Tempest Telecom Solutions LLC
Jeff Green, CEO & founder, The Trade Desk

@hollywoodspin Richard Horgan is co-editor of Fishbowl.
Publish date: April 16, 2013 © 2020 Adweek, LLC. - All Rights Reserved and NOT FOR REPRINT