Facebook Reveals Fellowship Program Winners, Finalists

Facebook announced the 12 winners and 30 finalists of its fellowship program, which supports PhD students working on research in the areas of social web and technology.

Facebook announced the 12 winners and 30 finalists of its fellowship program, which supports PhD students working on research in the areas of social web and technology.

Topics of research included, but were not limited to, data storage, mobile computing, and programming language technologies. Each winner will receive tuition payment, a $30,000 stipend, $2,500 toward a PC, $5,000 toward conference attendance and travel, and a trip to Facebook’s headquarters to meet with engineers working on related projects.

The winners, and their areas of focus, follow:

  • Jeremy Andrus, Columbia University, mobile computing: His goal is to revolutionize the mobile market with virtualization solutions that will allow the use of multiple virtual devices on a single physical device.
  • Mosharaf Chowdhury, University of California, Berkeley, computer networking and cloud computing: His research is introducing application-aware network primitives to make data-center networks more efficient, predictable, and easier to share across multiple entities.
  • John C. Duchi, University of California, Berkeley, machine learning: His research studies the growing size of modern data sets that necessitate new, efficient learning algorithms, such as for streaming, online, and distributed data. He aims to develop both practical and theoretical understanding of new statistical procedures that allow computers to learn amid previously difficult problems.
  • Tyler Harter, University of Wisconsin, Madison, storage systems: He is measuring the Hadoop File System, with plans to model HDFS scalability and create an HDFS emulator, hoping his work will help meet the scaling needs of growing services on the social Web.
  • Jeff Huang, University of Washington, search: He is studying scalable, nonintrusive methods for collecting richer interaction data on Web pages, using mouse cursor movements, scrolling, and tabbed browsing to support the design of better information systems.
  • Hyeontaek Lim, Carnegie Mellon University, distributed systems: He will focus on developing techniques to improve the resource efficiency of distributed systems.
  • Gregory Malecha, Harvard University, programming language technology: He plans to research how extensible program logics can be used to reason about low-level, concurrent software, and he will work on program logic for compiler intermediate representations that support concurrency.
  • Michelle Mazurek, Carnegie Mellon University, computer security: She is researching ways to let users share their content accurately and quickly, secure in the knowledge that only the right people will see it.
  • Adrian Sampson, University of Washington, computer architecture and programming languages: His research combines new processor designs with new energy-aware programming languages to help programmers write “greener” software.
  • Emily Stark, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, computer security: Her research focuses on building secure Web applications that offer useful functionality while protecting the privacy and security of users’ sensitive data.
  • Rashmi Korlakai Vinayak, University of California, Berkeley, distributed data storage: She is currently researching new encoding mechanisms for distributed storage systems with a goal of significantly improving their reliability and elasticity.
  • Jean Yang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, programming languages and computer security: She is developing Jeeves, a new programming language for automatically enforcing privacy policies. Jeeves allows programmers to specify privacy policies at a high level, to implement core functionality agnostic to the policies, and to rely on the system to produce outputs adhering to the policies.

The finalists were:

  • Adam Morris, Tel Aviv University
  • Adrian Sampson, University of Washington
  • Alan Ritter, University of Washington
  • Annie Steele, University of Texas at Austin
  • Bin Fan, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Bo Chen, California Institute of Technology
  • Brent Stephens, Rice University
  • Changhee Jung, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Cheng-Te Li, National Taiwan University
  • Dan Zhang, Purdue University
  • Eric Sodomka, Brown University
  • Jason Wiese, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Jeehyung Lee, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Jeffrey Rzeszotarski, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Jennifer Marlow, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Johan Ugander, Cornell University
  • Julien Dubois, California Institute of Technology
  • Kira Radinsky, Technion, Israel
  • Low Yucheng, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Minghong Lin, California Institute of Technology
  • Mohammad Hajjat, Purdue University
  • Mohammad Saberian, University of California San Diego
  • Neha Kumar, University of California, Berkeley
  • Robert West, Stanford University
  • Sameer Singh, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Sanjay Kairam, Stanford University
  • Tyler Lu, University of Toronto
  • Vasilis Syrgkanis, Cornell University
  • Wyatt Lloyd, Princeton University

david.cohen@adweek.com David Cohen is editor of Adweek's Social Pro Daily.
Publish date: February 17, 2012 https://dev.adweek.com/digital/facebook-fellowship-program-2/ © 2020 Adweek, LLC. - All Rights Reserved and NOT FOR REPRINT