Facebook’s stand-alone Moments application, which was received tepidly, at best, suddenly found itself at No. 1 Friday on the iTunes App Store list of free apps, but there’s a catch.
The social network has begun emailing users and warning them that their Synced Photos folders will be deleted July 7, with those images lost unless users download them or install Moments.
We wanted to let you know that photos you privately synced from your phone to Facebook will be deleted soon. Earlier this year, they were moved to Moments, a new app from Facebook.
If you want to keep your (Facebook user’s total saved photos) photos, download Moments and log in before July 7. If you don’t want Moments, you can also download these photos directly to your computer from your Facebook profile. Otherwise, they’ll be deleted. This won’t affect photos or videos you shared on Facebook.
Moments lets you organize and privately share photos with friends. It’s free on iOS and Android.
Facebook announced last December that it was eliminating its photo syncing feature and moving backed-up images to Moments Jan. 10.
Readers: Have you downloaded Moments? And did you know you had a Synced Photos folder?