MSG Network and WPIX, Big Winners at 2011 New York Emmys

A packed ballroom gathered at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square last night for the 2011 New York Emmy Awards. Right from the outset, we knew this going to be a special night, as it was the largest crowd ever and most awards being handed out (123). FishbowlNY was on hand tweeting results and providing photos from the red carpet.

MSG Network took home the most Emmys with 11. WPIX got the most trophies (10) among over-the-air stations. WNBC had an eight-Emmy night, while WCBS garnered seven awards.

Among the winners:

Daytime Newscast —WABC Eyewitness News at Noon with anchors Lori Stokes and Ken Rosato, meterologist Bill Evans.

Evening Newscast Over 35 Minutes—
CBS 2 Winter Storm Coverage, March 15, 2010. Kristine Johnson and Chris Wragge anchors. Meteorologist Lonnie Quinn.

Quinn was also named the Top Weather Anchor, while his former WCBS colleague Wragge was named Top News Anchor and Live Reporter.

That same snowstorm from last year landed Johnson and Wragge with the Emmy in the Spot News Story category.

During the 4-hour plus ceremony, veteran Fox 5/WNYW investigative reporter Arnold Diaz won (at least) three awards for his Shame on You series. WABC’s Jim Hoffer won for On-Camera Talent: Best Investigative Reporter and Investigative Series.

His longtime colleague, WNYW anchor Ernie Anastos, as reported last week, was chosen the recipient of the Governor’s Award for lifetime achievement. Former Good Morning America host Joan Lunden presented Anastos with his special honor.

On the topic of presenters, veteran film and TV actor Abe Vigoda, along with Anastos, got one of the rare standing ovations of the night. Also presenting trophies were WPIX anchor Jodi Applegate and YES Network play-by-play announcer Michael Kay, or as they are own these days–husband and wife (see above).

They met for the first time at the Emmys two years ago, and are married for “50 days,” as Kay informed the crowd.

Back to the awards, Stan Fischler was a two-time winner, including as Sports Reporter for work on MSG Network hockey games. Other sports winners:

Robert Randolph  Program Host/Moderator  (MSG Network) –Friday Night Knicks

Mike Emrick   Play-By-Play  (MSG Plus) — New Jersey Devils

Ray Lucas    Sports Analyst  (SNY)

Bob Lorenz   Sports Anchor  (YES Network)

Other winners include WCBS morning anchor Mary Calvi and WPIX commentator Larry Mendte (with two awards).

WNBC/New York Nonstop’s Talk Stoop with Cat Greenleaf was named Best Interview/Discussion.

YES won for Special Event Coverage of the New York Yankees Championship Parade in 2009.