New York Times Ties Washington Post for Most Overseas Press Club Awards

In a rematch of the Pulitzer duel between The Washington Post and The New York Times, the combatants played to a draw today as the Overseas Press Club announced the winners of its 71st annual OPC Awards.

Each publication took home two awards, tied for first among news outlets honored. The Times‘ Keith Bradsher won for his look at China’s green initiatives. NYT Mag‘s Alissa J. Rubin won for her story of a female suicide bomber in Iraq. As for the Post, it won one award for its coverage of U.S. strategy in Afghanistan and another for coverage of the drug war in Mexico.

The Post had taken the Times out to the woodshed during the Pulitzer outing, snagging four awards to the Times‘ two (or three, if you count the Times Magazine.

Other New York winners included Thirteen/, The Wall Street Journal, Vanity Fair, The New Yorker

Full list of winners after the jump.

Feature Photography Award: Q. Sakamaki, for photos taken in Xinjiang, China.

Bob Considine Award for best newspaper or wire service interpretation of international affiars: Rajiv Chandrasekaran, Karen DeYoung, Bob Woodward of The Washington Post, for “Obama’s War”

Carl Spielvogel Award for best international reporting in broadcast media showing concern for the human condition: Leon Geller, Marcus Vetter, Tom Casciato, Nina Chaudry, Jeff Seelbach, Aaron Brown of Thirteen/ for “Wide Angle: Heart of Jenin”

Cornelius Ryan Award for best nonfiction book on international affairs: David Finkel for “The Good Soldiers”

David Kaplan Award for best TV spot news reporting from abroad: David Martin, Mary Walsh, Rob Blache, Ken Crump, Ward Sloane, Rick Kaplan of CBS Evening news for “The Battle of Wanat”

Ed Cunningham Award for best magazine reporting from abroad: Alissa J. Rubin of The New York Times Magazine for “How Baida Wanted to Die”

Edward R. Murrow Award for best TV interpretation or documentary on international affairs: Marcela Gaviria and Martin Smith for Rain Media, David Fanning for Frontline for “Obama’s War”

Hal Boyle Award for best newspaper or wire service reporting from abroad: Farnaz Fassihi of The Wall Street Journal for “Hearts, Minds and Blood: The Battle for Iran”

Lowell Thomas Award for best radio news or interpretation of international affairs: Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson, Lauren Jenkins, Douglas Roberts of NPR for “Afghanistan: Nightmares and Dreams of a Nation at War”

Madeline Dane Ross Award for best business reporting from abroad in newspapers or wire services: Abigail Haworth of Marie Claire for “Forced to Be Fat”

Malcolm Forbes Award for best business reporting from abroad in newspapers or wire services: Keith Bradsher of The New York Times for “Green China”

Morton Frank Award for best business reporting from abroad in magazines: Michael Lewis of Vanity Fair for “Wall Street on the Tundra”

Olivier Rebbot Award for best photographic reporting from abroad in magazines and books: David Burnett of National Geographic Books / Focal Point in cooperation with Contact Press Images for “44 Days: Iran and the Remaking of the World”

Olivier Rebbot Award for best photographic reporting from abroad in magazines and books: Alvaro Ybarra Zavala

The Online Journalism Award for best Web coverage of International affairs: T. Christian Miller, Doug Smith, Pratap Chatterjee of ProPublica for “Disposable Army”

Robert Capa Gold Medal Award for best published photographic reporting from abroad requiring exceptional courage and enterprise: Khalil Hamra of the Associated Press for “War in Gaza”

Robert Spiers Benjamin Award</strong for best reporting in any medium on Latin America: Jon Lee Anderson of The New Yorker for “Gangland”

Publish date: April 22, 2010 © 2020 Adweek, LLC. - All Rights Reserved and NOT FOR REPRINT