Dean Baquet Accepts on Behalf of David Carr

The late New York Times media critic's legacy presides over Newhouse School Mirror Awards.

DeanBaquetMirrorAwardsIt’s a bright and sunny day whenever the spirit of David Carr is actively remembered. Such was the case over lunch today at Cipriani 42nd Street, during the official presentation of the Newhouse School’s 2015 Mirror Awards.

Carr was honored with the I-3 Award for impact, innovation and influence. As we all know, those are three “i’s” that Carr knew how to vigorously and stylishly dot.

Also celebrated today as winners:

Benjamin Wallace / New York magazine / Best Profile
Kara Swisher Is Silicon Valley’s Most Feared and Well-Liked Journalist. How Does That Work?

Yang Xiao / Nieman Reports / Best Commentary
Moral Hazard

Anna Griffin / Nieman Reports / Best Single Article (Digital Media)
Where Are the Women? Why We Need More Female Newsroom Leaders

Anna Hess / Pacific Standard / Best Single Article (Traditional, Legacy Media)
Why Women Aren’t Welcome on the Internet

Bob Garfield, Katya Rogers / On The Media / Best Single Story – Radio, Television, Cable or Online
OTM Goes Inside Washington

Bryan Burrough, Sarah Ellison, Suzanna Andrews / Vanity Fair / John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting
The Snowden Saga: A Shadowland of Secrets and Light

Congrats to these winners and AMC Networks president-CEO Josh Sapan, who accepted the Fred Dressler Leadership Award. That more distant but hearty sound of clapping in the distance comes from, you-know-who.

[Photo via: @ProfHB]

@hollywoodspin Richard Horgan is co-editor of Fishbowl.
Publish date: June 11, 2015 © 2020 Adweek, LLC. - All Rights Reserved and NOT FOR REPRINT