Newhouse School Announces Mirror Awards Finalists

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications announced the 26 finalists in seven categories for its fourth annual Mirror Awards, to be presented Thursday, June 10, from 11:45 a.m.-2:30 p.m. at The Plaza Hotel in New York.

It was previously announced that Bloomberg and Twitter would receive special recognition at the event, which will be hosted by Newhouse School dean Lorraine E. Branham and emceed by CBS News’ Katie Couric.

For the complete list of finalists, click here. The digital finalists are listed after the jump.

Best Single Article, Digital Media
Philip Bump, “Revisiting The New York Times‘ 2001 ‘Year in Ideas,'” Mediaite
Michael Calderone, “Fox teas up a tempest,”
Megan Garber, “Common Knowledge,” Columbia Journalism Review

Best Profile, Digital Media
Nancy Jo Sales, “The Unreal Rise of Jon and Kate Gosselin,” Vanity Fair
Justin Peters, “Man About Town,” Columbia Journalism Review
Justin Peters, “Burger Meister,” Columbia Journalism Review

Best Commentary, Digital Media
Eric Alterman, Center for American Progress, “Think Again: Remember Real Journalism,” “Think Again: Mice, Playing: The Decline of Skeptical Journalism,” “Think Again: The End of Local Reporting?,” and “Think Again: Conflicts of Interest by the Wealthy and for the Wealthy
Matthew Pressman, Vanity Fair, “Why Time and Newsweek Will Never Be The Economist,” “Media Darwinism: Which Sites Will Survive?,” “A Media Guy Asks: Why Do They Hate Us?,” and “Is Fox Business Network a Lost Cause?
Craig Silverman, Columbia Journalism Review, “Violating the ‘Contract of Correction,’” “Wrong, Wrong, Wrong, Wrong, Wrong, Wrong,” “The New Great American Pastime,” and “Speed Demons David Cohen is editor of Adweek's Social Pro Daily.