New York Times, Wall Street Journal Win Pulitzer Prizes for Journalism

The Pulitzer Prize winners in journalism were announced today, and despite the crashing Pulitzer website, FishbowlNY managed to secure the entire list!

Among New York newspapers, the New York Times won in two categories, “Commentary,” and “International Reporting,” with Clifford J. Levy winning his second Pulitzer. The Wall Street Journal won for “Editorial Writing.”

Another highlight is that for the first time in history, ProPublica was awarded a Pulitzer for a group of stories that never appeared in print.

More commentary is sure to follow, but for now, here is the complete list of winners in journalism:

  • “Public Service” went to The Los Angeles Times
  • No award was given for the “Breaking News Reporting” category.
  • “Investigative Reporting” went to Paige St. John of Sarasota Herald-Tribune
  • “Explanatory Reporting” went to Mark Johnson, Kathleen Gallagher, Gary Porter, Lou Saldivar and Alison Sherwood of Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
  • “Local Reporting” went to Frank Main, Mark Konkol and John J. Kim of Chicago Sun-Times
  • “National Reporting” went to Jesse Eisinger and Jake Bernstein of ProPublica
  • “International Reporting” went to Clifford J. Levy and Ellen Barry of The New York Times
  • “Feature Writing” went to Amy Ellis Nutt of The Star-Ledger, Newark, NJ
  • “Commentary” went to David Leonhardt of The New York Times
  • “Criticism” went to Sebastian Smee of The Boston Globe
  • “Editorial Writing” went to Joseph Rago of The Wall Street Journal
  • “Editorial Cartooning” went to Mike Keefe of The Denver Post
  • “Breaking News Photography” went to Carol Guzy, Nikki Kahn and Ricky Carioti of The Washington Post
  • “Feature Photography” went to Barbara Davidson of Los Angeles Times

Publish date: April 18, 2011 © 2020 Adweek, LLC. - All Rights Reserved and NOT FOR REPRINT