Strong DC Showing Among NPF Award Winners

Diane Rehm, John F. Harris, Jim VandeHei, Curtis Tate and Matt Fuller among the winners.

The National Press Foundation announced today the winners of its annual journalism awards contest, with Washington-based journalists taking the honors in many NPF categories.

Winners included Diane Rehm, who received the Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism Award. Rehm is, of course, host of WAMU-produced, NPR-distributed call-in/interview program The Diane Rehm Show, which she has been hosting since 1979, when it was known as Kaleidoscope. It was changed to its current title in 1984.

Politico co-founders John F. Harris and Jim VandeHei receive the Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award. The Politico folks see the award as vindication for a publication that realized its ambitions (and more). “This prize is a tribute to John and Jim’s prescience and guts in creating this insurgent enterprise nine years ago, when many people scoffed as they left prestigious jobs at Bradlee’s newspaper, The Washington Post, to try something new,” wrote Politico COO Kim Kingsley and chief White House correspondent Mike Allen in a note to staff. Since 2006, the award had been named after the legendary Washington Post editor, who initially had been reluctant to accept the honor of having his name attached to the award. Bradlee passed away in October 2014.

Curtis Tate, a national correspondent for McClatchy’s Washington bureau, is the winner of the Feddie Award for his multi-media feature on the potential for disaster at the nexus of crumbling infrastructure, insufficient regulation, and crude oil transport.

Matt Fuller, who joined Huffington Post this month, gets the Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Reporting of Congress for the work he did reporting on the Freedom Caucus, while still at CQ Roll Call.

Visit the NPF site for a full list of winners. Winners will receive their awards at NPF’s annual dinner on Feb. 11, 2016.