Twitter Now Available In 5 More Languages

International Twitter users, rejoice: you may now be able to tweet in your native language.

Twitter has just expanded its language offerings to five new dialects, including Simplified and Traditional Chinese, Hindi, Filipino and Malay.

Announced on the Twitter blog earlier this week, these five new languages brings Twitter’s total language count up to 17.

The other 12 languages that Twitter is currently available in include Dutch, Indonesian, Brazilian Portuguese, Turkish, Russian, Italian, Spanish, Korean, French, German, Japanese, and English.

Twitter has been using its Translation Center to crowdsource translations for its products. It has so far been helped by a community of over 290,000 volunteer translators.

These translators aren’t sitting there translating every tweet you send out, however – they are translating things like, support pages, official Twitter apps and other official products.

The company says that it will soon be adding Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish, Polish and Hungarian to its Translation Center to get the volunteers working on expanding Twitter to even more countries around the globe.

Twitter has been hard at work making its product more accessible to other countries, including launching a UK blog just this week.

Image courtesy of iQoncept via Shutterstock

Publish date: September 15, 2011 © 2020 Adweek, LLC. - All Rights Reserved and NOT FOR REPRINT