Twlya Tharp, John Maeda, Psy Among Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award Honorees

From STEM to STEAM to…Psy? Worlds will collide on April 26, when NYU’s Stern School of Business plays host to a ceremony and luncheon for the Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards. Presented annually by the Tribeca Film Festival in association with the Disruptor Foundation and Mr. Disruptive Innovation himself, Clay Christensen, the awards showcase applications of and advancements in disruptive innovation theory–how simpler, cheaper technologies, products, and services can decimate industry leaders–that have spread beyond the original technological and industrial sweetspots.

Joining past honorees such as Twitter co-founder Jack Dorsey, the Guggenheim’s YouTube Play, and Kickstarter are 2013 disrupters including RISD President John Maeda‘s STEM to STEAM initiative, which adds art and design into the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) quartet; fashion designer and wellness advocate Norma Kamali; K-Pop sensation Psy; and Twyla Tharp, who will receive the lifetime achievement award. Here’s hoping that those four hit and off and get to work on an even more disruptive collaborative project. The full list of honorees is below. Each will take home Disruptor Award statuettes known as “Maslow’s Silver Hammer,” in honor of psychologist Abe “Hierarchy of Needs” Maslow, who once said, “When your only tool is a hammer, every problem starts looking like a nail.”

2013 Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award honorees:
Lifetime Achievement Award – Twyla Tharp, Choreographer, Author, and Founder of Twyla Tharp Dance

Manchester Prize for Urban Innovation- City of Manchester, Sir Howard Bernstein, Chief Executive

THINX: An unusual collaboration between Rhada and Miki Agrawal of Slice and Super Sprowtz and Kym and Alexis McClay of Naven

Jack Andraka

I F*cking Love Science/Science is Awesome Creator, Elise Andrew – Henry IV Prize, presented by the Joan Ganz Cooney Center

Glenn Beck, Founder and Owner, The Blaze – Charles Darwin Prize, presented by The Economist

Nicolas Berggruen, Think Long Committee for California, The Berggruen Institute on Governance, and Author, Intelligent Governance for the 21st Century: A Middle Way Between West and East

Garrett Camp, Founding CEO, StumbleUpon & Co-Founder, Uber

GE FOCUS FORWARD, Beth Comstock, Chief Marketing Officer and Senior Vice President of GE and Morgan Spurlock, Co-Founder of cinelan

Forbes Magazine – Schumpeter Prize, presented by The Economist

Ken Goldberg and Ayorkor Korsah, Co-Founders, The African Robotics Network (AFRON) $10 Robot Challenge

Henry Jackson Initiative

Norma Kamali, Designer and Wellness Advocate

Kenzo Digital, Director/Artist

Deborah Kenny, Chief Executive Officer, Harlem Village Academies

Beau Lotto, Founder, Lottolab Studio

STEM to STEAM, John Maeda, President, Rhode Island School of Design

Urban Dictionary, Creator, Aaron Peckham

Psy, South Korean Artist/Global Phenomenon

Jose Vargas, Pulitzer Prize-winning Journalist and Founder, Define American