Earlier today a post went up on the YouTube blog about a new privacy setting for videos – Unlisted. Unlike videos that are set to Private and can only be viewed by a maximum of 25 authorized YouTube members, Unlisted videos can be viewed by anyone who has the link. However, these videos will not appear in YouTube’s public pages or searches, or on the user’s public YouTube page or channel search.
Shortly after the post went up on the YouTube blog it was taken down. However, YouTube has added an explanation of how Unlisted videos work to their Help Center page. YouTube’s post announced that this new feature launched today. However, it doesn’t appear to have been implemented yet (at least not on my YouTube account). A YouTube spokesperson told NewTeeVee that the new option is likely to go live at some point this afternoon.
The new Unlisted YouTube privacy option should prove to be a great tool for users that want to share their videos with friends and family, but not with the whole world. But does this mean that as a result there will be less hilariously embarrassing home videos going viral? What do you think?